College Options: Update

I think I have found the perfect course.
Fact is I don’t know what career I want. I want to take photos, I want to design things, I want to use my brain and be able to be proud of myself for my work and overcoming obstacles. I want to be successful.
The reason I want the Journalism MA behind me is because it plays a big part in the media industry. I think it would be valuable to have a good knowledge on the subject… but is a masters the right way of going about it? I honestly don’t know.

ANYWAY… I’m going to apply for NCAD to do the four year degree course in Visual Communications. It incorporates photography and graphic design along with plenty of other subjects. It includes compulsary research trips and has an experienced lecturing staff too.
ALSO, there is an annual fashion show which gives Visual Comms students a great opportunity to work with the students from other courses and use their skills. The college also offers great opportunities for photographers.

I’ve mailed the head lecturer with a tonne of questions so I’m hoping I get a reply today.
I’m really excited about this. It means another year out of college and a lot of portfolio work, but I think it will be worth it. More research to do… but this looks like the winner so far.

~ by sadiemaesugar on August 26, 2008.

2 Responses to “College Options: Update”

  1. Ah look whos blogging away… Jaysus I wouldnt get too hung on MA quite yet. “it plays a big part in the media industry.” – I’m not sure about that. The Media industry is about a bit about having a skill (ie being a writer or photographer etc), a bit about having some experience and a lot about who you know… Not that I’m Mr know it all, that’s just what it seems like to me.

  2. You see thats what I thought, but now I’m hearing that I’m being naive and that it’s all about qualifications… but surely that’s unfair? I mean shouldn’t it be about how good you are as an artist/writer as opposed to having some freaking MA stuck beside your name?! It’s a long way off so hopefully by then i’ll be sorted somwhere and will have enough contacts and not have to worry about it.
    And yeh look who is blogging indeed. Got a bit addicted.
    HEY BREN!!!!
    xxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a comment